Assault

Diligent Hartford Assault & Battery Lawyers

dwi defenseSeasoned defense attorneys explain assault laws in Connecticut

Assault is a harmful or offensive contact caused by the defendant’s intentional, wanton or negligent act. Assault is considered a violent crime that can result in serious consequences. Those who are charged with assault are facing felony charges in the state of Connecticut. You can be charged with anywhere from a Class A misdemeanor to a Class B felony and can face up to 20 years in prison and a $15,000 fine. At the Law Offices of Marc N. Needelman, our criminal defense firm fights aggressively to defend your rights. We work with precision and diligence to establish a defense and obtain a fair trial or negotiate a fair plea bargain to minimize the serious consequences to you. If you need our legal services, contact our firm for a consultation today.

Punishment for assault and battery

As a former prosecutor with 35 years of legal experience, assault attorney Marc Needelman provides high-quality representation for defendants accused of all types of assault crimes in Connecticut:

First-degree assault: This Class B felony may result in up to 20 years’ imprisonment and $15,000 in fines. It includes:

  • Assault with a deadly weapon or instrument that causes serious injury
  • Assault with intent to permanently disfigure a person or destroy, amputate or disable organs or limbs
  • Reckless conduct that creates a risk of death and causes serious injury
  • Assault aided by two or more other people with the intent to cause injury
  • Injury caused by discharging a firearm

Second-degree assault: These Class D felonies, which may be punished by up to five years in jail and $5,000 in fines, include:

  • Assault resulting in injury to another person
  • Assault with a deadly weapon or instrument, other than a firearm, intending to cause injury
  • Reckless conduct with a deadly weapon that causes serious injury
  • Intentionally causing stupor, unconsciousness, physical impairment or injury by drugging a person without consent and not for medical treatment
  • Assault with a motor vehicle by an intoxicated person causing serious injury

Third-degree assault: A Class A misdemeanor punishable by one year in prison and up to $2,000 in fines, this includes:

  • Intentionally causing physical injury
  • Reckless conduct resulting in serious injury
  • Negligent use of a deadly weapon, instrument or electronic defense weapon resulting in injury

Charges may be elevated from a misdemeanor or less serious felony and sentences increased, with possible mandatory jail in cases where assault is against an elderly, blind, disabled, pregnant, or mentally retarded person or a law enforcement officer or Department of Correction employee. To learn more about the differences between misdemeanor and felony assault charges, please see Misdemeanors vs. Felonies.

Connecticut law firm fighting for fair results in criminal cases

Whether you or someone you care about is charged with misdemeanor or felony assault, the Law Offices of Marc N. Needelman has the aggressive attitude and offers the quality services needed to obtain fair results. To schedule a free initial consultation with our experienced assault & battery lawyer in Hartford, CT, contact The Law Offices of Marc N. Needelman today.